Sustainable living. learning. researching

Good Scientific Practice

Ombuds Committee for good scientific practice at the Medical University of Graz


The Ombuds Committee for quality assurance in science has the task to promote good scientific practice at the Medical University of Graz and to prevent scientific misconduct and fraud in science by providing researchers with information. In addition, the Ombuds Committee may act in an advisory capacity for those persons and organs of the University who/that are entitled to investigate and take disciplinary measures in cases of alleged scientific misconduct or fraud. At the Medical University of Graz, a Ombuds Committee has been established that consists of four scientific staff members and one lawyer from a non-scientific field. The four scientific staff members also act in a confidential capacity and can answer questions about good scientific practice and scientific misconduct.

The tasks of the Ombuds Committee include:

  1. offering advice on issues related to good scientific practice or scientific misconduct;
  2. Monitoring and, if necessary, considering national and international developments in the thematic area of scientific integrity and adapting the Standards of Good Scientific Practice at the Medical University of Graz;
  3. developing concepts for and participating in the implementation of measures to promote scientific integrity and good scientific practice, as well as measures to prevent scientific misconduct;
  4. reviewing alleged cases of scientific misconduct;
  5. initiating investigations into cases of alleged scientific misconduct;
  6. documenting and reporting such investigations.

The Ombuds Committee and the responsible persons fulfil their tasks within the scope of their functions on the Committee independently and without being subject to directives. The Committee members do not receive any financial or other compensation for their activities in the Ombuds Committee. The Research Management Unit of the University provides support for the confidants and the Ombuds Committee in administrative and organisational matters.

Committee members

  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Peter Holzer
  • Dr. Maximilian Hotter
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Christine Moissl-Eichinger
  • Univ.-Ass. PD Dr. Dr. Susanne Scheipl
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Heinz Sill





  • Muniverse
  • VMC Moodle
  • Forschungportal
  • MEDonline
  • Library