Studierende sitzend am Boden

Extracurricular activities

Daily life at a university involves more than studying, teaching and researching—it includes networking, innovation, creativity and development. Above and beyond studying, our university provides different opportunities for you to gain experience, become involved and shape your individual profile. Innovative student initiatives have always played a large role at Med Uni Graz, and in recent years they have been carried out more frequently. A large number of ideas that started out small still enrich the daily life of students today—and the next project is surely already taking shape in a student's head!

Studierende im Gespräch

AUSTRIAN NATIONAL UNION OF STUDENTS

ÖH Med Graz—the Austrian National Union of Students—is the legal representative of all students and a corporation under public law. This group of students acts on a voluntary basis to advise and inform their fellow students  on important topics related to studying and is represented on all university committees such as the academic senate, studies commissions, habilitation and appointment commissions as well as other working groups and advisory boards.

More information
Musiker*Innen

MUSICAL GROUPS: BIG BAND, CHOIR AND ORCHESTRA

Some of our students are very musical. That is why young musicians have been joining forces for many years to enrich campus life with their concerts. The big band, choir and orchestra of ÖH Med Graz and Med Uni Graz regularly meet to pursue their passion alongside their studies. The result can be seen and above all heard: An auditorium that is filled to capacity at every summer and winter concert speaks for itself!

More information
Kongress

International Student Congress (ISC)

The International Student Congress (ISC) was founded by motivated students of the Medical University of Graz in 2013. Its primary goal is to allow young scientists from around the world to network and share their research experiences and findings with an international audience. An extensive social networking program and exciting keynotes by famous researchers helped the ISC rise to international prominence. Each year it attracts a large number of medical students from all around the world to Graz.

More information
Studierende

Austrian Medical Students' Association (AMSA)

The Austrian Medical Students' Association (AMSA) is a non-profit and independent initiative of medical students in Austria. It is active on behalf of causes that are for the benefit of the health and well-being of society. The organization and implementation of a variety of projects and educational outreach programs make up the majority of its work. The AMSA participates in projects such as Teddy Bear Hospital, the blood donation drive "Vampire Cup" or the educational outreach campaign "Press Me" on the topic of resuscitation measures.

More information
Teddybär

TEDDY BEAR HOSPITAL GRAZ

Teddy Bear Hospital was started in order to ease children's fears of doctors, hospital visits and clinical examinations in a playful manner. As they accompany their own stuffed animals, the children look over the shoulders of the Teddy Docs and assist in the treatment of their plush patients. Thanks to the Austrian Medical Students' Association, the Teddy Docs—motivated Med Uni Graz medical students—are on duty every year.

More information
Personen sitzen im Kreis

PEER2PEER COUNSELING CENTER

Healthy and motivated through one's studies: That is the goal of the Peer2Peer counseling center at Med Uni Graz. Students receive support quickly and easily, no matter if they are facing difficulties or crises as a result of excessive demands or failures in their studies, dealing with personal problems in private life or illness or even working out solutions and focusing on their personal development. Specially trained students in later semesters (peers) provide advising, accompaniment and mentoring and "help for self-help" to their fellow students during their studies.

More information
Ultraschall

Sono4You Graz

Sono4You Graz is an initiative of Med Uni Graz students interested in ultrasound who would like to introduce their fellow students to sonography. In 2013, the project was established by a small group of students who acquired their first skills in ultrasound on their own using an ultrasound scanner and YouTube videos. In the meantime, around 80 regular courses, a large number of workshops at congresses and the international Late Summer School for Ultrasound take place every year thanks to the commitment of students and supporting doctors.

More information

Studierende sitzend am Boden

Aktivitäten neben dem Studium

Universitätsalltag bedeutet mehr als Studieren, Lehren und Forschen – für uns ist es Vernetzung, Innovation, Kreativität und Weiterentwicklung. Und über das Studium hinaus gibt es an unserer Universität unterschiedliche Möglichkeiten, Erfahrungen zu sammeln, sich zu engagieren und ein individuelles Profil zu bilden. Innovative Studierendeninitiativen spielten an der Med Uni Graz immer schon eine große Rolle und wurden in den letzten Jahren immer häufiger verwirklicht. Zahlreiche Ideen haben klein angefangen und bereichern den Studierendenalltag bis heute – und das nächste Projekt ist in Gedanken sicherlich schon in Planung!

Studierende im Gespräch

Österreichische Hochschüler*innenschaft

Die ÖH Med Graz – die Österreichische Hochschüler*innenschaft – ist die gesetzlich legitimierte Vertretung aller Studierenden und eine Körperschaft öffentlichen Rechts. Diese Gruppe ehrenamtlicher Studierender setzt sich neben der Beratung und Informierung ihrer Studienkolleg*innen in allen universitären Gremien wie dem akademischen Senat, Studienkommissionen, Habilitations- und Berufungskommissionen sowie weiteren Arbeitsgruppen und Beiräten für wichtige Themen rund um das Studium ein.

Weitere Informationen
Musiker*Innen

Musikalisch: Bigband, Chor und Orchester 

Einige unserer Studierenden sind besonders musikalisch. Deswegen schließen sich die jungen Musiker*innen schon seit vielen Jahren zusammen und bereichern das Campusleben regelmäßig mit Konzerten. Die Bigband, der Chor und das Orchester der ÖH Med Graz bzw. der Med Uni Graz treffen sich neben dem Studium regelmäßig, um ihrer großen Leidenschaft nachzugehen. Das Ergebnis kann sich sehen und vor allem hören lassen: Eine randvolle Aula bei jedem Sommer- und Winterkonzert spricht für sich!

Weitere Informationen
Kongress

International Student Congress (ISC)

Der International Student Congress (ISC) wurde 2013 von engagierten Studierenden der Medizinischen Universität Graz ins Leben gerufen. Dabei steht das Ziel, junge Wissenschafter*innen aus der ganzen Welt zu vernetzen und ihre Forschungserfahrungen und Ergebnisse mit einem internationalen Publikum zu teilen, im Vordergrund. Ein umfangreiches Social-Networking-Programm sowie spannende Keynotes renommierter Forscher*innen verhalfen dem ISC bereits zu internationaler Bekanntheit, die jährlich zahlreiche Medizinstudierende aus aller Welt nach Graz zieht.

Weitere Informationen
Studierende

Austrian Medical Students' Association (AMSA)

Die Austrian Medical Students’ Association AMSA ist eine gemeinnützige und unabhängige Initiative, insbesondere von Medizinstudierenden in Österreich. Sie setzt sich für Themen ein, die der Gesundheit und dem Wohlbefinden der Gesellschaft zugutekommen sollen. Einen Großteil ihrer Arbeit machen dabei die Organisation und die Durchführung vielfältiger Projekte und Aufklärungsprogramme aus. Die AMSA beteiligt sich beispielsweise an den Projekten Teddybär-Krankenhaus, der Blutspendeaktion „Vampire Cup“ oder der Aufklärungskampagne „drück mich“ zum Thema Wiederbelebungsmaßnahmen.

Weitere Informationen
Teddybär

Teddybär-Krankenhaus Graz

Das Teddybär-Krankenhaus wurde initiiert, um Kindern auf spielerische Art und Weise die Angst vor Ärzt*innen, dem Krankenhausbesuch und klinischen Untersuchungen zu nehmen. Als Begleitperson ihrer eigenen Stofftiere schauen die Kinder den Teddydocs über die Schulter und unterstützen bei der Verarztung ihrer plüschigen Patient*innen. Jedes Jahr sind die Teddydocs – engagierte Medizinstudierende der Med Uni Graz – dank der Organisation der Austrian Medical Students’ Association im Einsatz.

Weitere Informationen
Personen sitzen im Kreis

Beratungsstelle Peer2Peer

Gesund und motiviert durchs Studium – das ist das Ziel der Beratungsstelle Peer2Peer an der Med Uni Graz. Nicht nur bei Schwierigkeiten oder Krisen aufgrund von Überforderung oder Misserfolgen im Studium, persönlichen Problemen im Privatleben oder Krankheit, sondern auch bei der Erarbeitung von Lösungen und der Förderung der Persönlichkeitsentwicklung sollen Studierende schnell und unkompliziert unterstützt werden. Dabei stellen sich höhersemestrige und speziell geschulte Studierende (Peers) zu Beratung, Begleitung bzw. Mentoring und „Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe“ für ihre Studienkolleg*innen während des Studiums zur Verfügung.

Weitere Informationen
Ultraschall

Sono4you Graz

Sono4You Graz ist eine Initiative von Ultraschall-interessierten Studierenden an der Med Uni Graz, die ihren Studienkolleg*innen einen Einstieg in die Sonographie ermöglichen möchten. Das Projekt wurde 2013 von einer kleinen Gruppe von Studierenden gegründet, die sich auf eigene Faust mit Schallgerät und YouTube-Videos die ersten Schallkenntnisse aneignete. Mittlerweile finden jedes Jahr unter großem persönlichen Einsatz von Studierenden und unterstützenden Mediziner*innen rund 80 reguläre Kurse, zahlreiche Workshops auf Kongressen sowie die internationale Summer School für Ultraschall statt.

Weitere Informationen