Zahnmedizin

The Dentistry Diploma program prepares students for a future career as a dentist. Theoretical principles and practical skills are taught in an integrative, topic-centered and patient-oriented manner. A special emphasis is placed on aspects of the humanities in the spirit of the biopsychosocial model. The basic elements of scientific thought are also conveyed.

The aim is to provide students with the best preparation for entry into working life and an optimal foundation for postgraduate training in all specialist areas based on a broad medical education. At the same time, they should be capable of critically engaging with medical changes over the course of their work in the sense of lifelong learning.

The Dentistry Diploma program was introduced in order to establish a program length comparable to that of the majority of European countries. In essence, it replaces the previous specialist training in dental, oral and maxillofacial medicine, and its goals are oriented to the three-year specialist training.

This curriculum also incorporates postgraduate professional development content in order to create a consistent concept for the entire medical education. The dentistry program is a diploma program. After it has been completed, it is possible to continue on and earn a doctorate in medical science.

  • The goals are oriented to the educational content and profiles of the previous specialist training in dental, oral and maxillofacial medicine.
  • The Dentistry Diploma program teaches knowledge and skills in all standard branches of dentistry such as conservative dentistry, dental surgery, prosthetic and restorative dentistry, periodontology and orthodontics to an extent that serves to guarantee basic dental care at a general dental practice.
  • The diploma program serves as the basis for advanced specialist training in dental, oral and maxillofacial medicine at universities and educational institutions not affiliated with universities.
  • The diploma program provides the basis for research in dental, oral and maxillofacial medicine.

Courses

Phase 1

2 semesters

Knowledge and basic understanding of the human organism; initial training in medical skills; introductory phase including exploration of occupational fields

Phase 2

4 semesters

Knowledge of healthy and diseased organism through patient-oriented and topic-specific instruction; intensive training in medical abilities and skills; basic dental skills

Phase 3

6 semesters

More extensive scientific training; intensive teaching of practical skills and supervision of independent dental work

Aufnahmeverfahren Zahnmedizin

Dentistry Admissions Procedure

In academic year 2021/22, a total of 24 places are available for first-year students in the Dentistry diploma program.

All special information on the dentistry admissions procedure (German only)

Zahnmedizin

Zahnmedizin

Das Diplomstudium Zahnmedizin bereitet die Studierenden auf den zukünftigen Beruf als Zahnärztin*Zahnarzt vor. Es werden theoretische Grundlagen und praktische Fertigkeiten in integrativer, themenzentrierter und patient*innenorientierter Form vermittelt. Besonderen Stellenwert nehmen humanwissenschaftliche Aspekte im Sinne des biopsychosozialen Modells ein. Weiters werden die Grundzüge wissenschaftlichen Denkens vermittelt.

Es wird angestrebt, für die Studierenden auf Basis einer breiten medizinischen Bildung die besten Voraussetzungen für den Eintritt in das Berufsleben und optimale Grundlagen für die postpromotionelle Ausbildung in allen ärztlichen Fachbereichen zu schaffen. Zugleich sollen Sie befähigt werden, sich im Sinne eines lebenslangen Lernens mit den medizinischen Veränderungen im Laufe der Tätigkeit kritisch auseinandersetzen zu können.

Das Diplomstudium Zahnmedizin wurde eingeführt, um die Vergleichbarkeit der Studiendauer mit der Mehrzahl der europäischen Staaten herzustellen. Es löste in seinen Grundzügen die seinerzeitige Fachausbildung zur*zum Fachärztin*arzt für Zahn-, Mund- und Kieferheilkunde ab und orientiert sich in seinen Zielen an der 3-jährigen Fachausbildung.

Dieses Curriculum erfordert auch eine inhaltliche Integration der postpromotionellen Weiterbildung, um ein in sich konsistentes Konzept der gesamten ärztlichen Ausbildung zu schaffen. Das Studium Zahnmedizin ist ein Diplomstudium. Die Möglichkeit für ein anschließendes Doktoratstudium der medizinischen Wissenschaft ist vorgesehen.

  • Die Ziele orientieren sich an den Ausbildungsinhalten und Profilen der seinerzeitigen Ausbildung zur*zum Fachärztin*arzt für Zahn-, Mund- und Kieferheilkunde.
  • Das Diplomstudium Zahnmedizin vermittelt Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten in allen herkömmlichen Teilgebieten der Zahnmedizin wie konservierende Zahnheilkunde, zahnärztliche Chirurgie, prothetische und restaurative Zahnheilkunde, Parodontologie und Orthodontie in einem Ausmaß, welches der Sicherstellung der zahnärztlichen Grundversorgung einer allgemeinen zahnärztlichen Praxis dient.
  • Das Diplomstudium dient als Grundlage für weiterführende Spezialausbildungen auf dem Gebiet der Zahn- Mund- und Kieferheilkunde in universitären und außeruniversitären Bildungsinstitutionen.
  • Das Diplomstudium bildet die Basis für die wissenschaftliche Tätigkeit in den Teilgebieten der Zahn-, Mund- und Kieferheilkunde.

Lehrverstaltungen

1. Studienabschnitt

2 Semester

Wissen und grundlegendes Verständnis über den menschlichen Organismus; erstes Training ärztlicher Fähigkeiten; Studieneingangsphase inkl. Berufsfelderkundung

2. Studienabschnitt

4 Semester

Wissen über gesunden und kranken Organismus durch patient*innenorientierten und themenspezifischen Unterricht; intensives Training von ärztlichen Fähigkeiten und Fertigkeiten; Grundlagen der zahnärztlichen Fertigkeiten

3. Studienabschnitt

6 Semester

Vertiefung der wissenschaftlichen Ausbildung; intensive Vermittlung von praktischen Fertigkeiten und angeleitete eigenverantwortliche zahnärztliche Tätigkeit

Aufnahmeverfahren Zahnmedizin

Aufnahmeverfahren Zahnmedizin

Für das Diplomstudium Zahnmedizin stehen im Studienjahr 2021/22 insgesamt 24 Studienplätze für Erstsemestrige zur Verfügung.

Alle speziellen Informationen zum Aufnahmeverfahren Zahnmedizin