Geschichte

A stroll through history

The Medical University of Graz is a young university that looks back on a long tradition. Medical research and the education of new generations of doctors has been conducted with great commitment and exceptional success since 1863. In January 2004 the previous Faculty of Medicine became an independent university.

"The best that we have from history is the enthusiasm that it stimulates."

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

A YOUNG UNIVERSITY WITH A LONG TRADITION:
FROM 1585 TO THE PRESENT

Die Gründer: Erzherzog Karl, Joseph II. und Kaiser Franz Josef I

THE FOUNDERS: ARCHDUKE KARL, JOSEPH II AND EMPEROR FRANZ JOSEPH I

On January 1, 1585, the University of Graz was founded by the Habsburg Archduke Karl. It consisted of a theological faculty and a philosophical faculty. In 1782 the "medical-surgical school" was introduced under Joseph II with the intent of standardizing the education of doctors throughout the entire empire. On January 13, 1863, the Faculty of Medicine was founded by Emperor Franz Joseph I.

Frauen an der Universität

MILESTONE: WOMEN AT THE UNIVERSITY

In 1900, women were admitted to the Faculty of Medicine in Graz as full students for the first time. In 1905 the first woman to practice medicine in Graz, Oktavia Aigner-Rollett, received her degree. In 1929 the University of Graz awarded its first habilitation degree to a woman, Dora Börner-Patzelt, who studied histology and embryology. In 1949 Carla Zawisch-Ossenitz, a histologist, was the first woman to be appointed a tenured professor.

Universitätsklinikum Graz am Auenbruggerplatz

OPENING: UNIVERSITY HOSPITAL GRAZ ON AUENBRUGGERPLATZ

After ten years of planning and construction, University Hospital Graz went into operation on May 12, 1912, and was the largest and most modern hospital in Europe at the time. In 1948 the hospital premises were renamed “Auenbruggerplatz.” Since 2002 the hospital has been exclusively a university hospital, ensuring first-class and personalized patient care, innovative and practice-oriented education as well as pioneering and excellent research on site.

Laborsujet

NOBEL PRIZES: PERSONALITIES OF OUTSTANDING MERIT

In 1923 Fritz Pregl, professor of medical chemistry at the Graz Faculty of Medicine, received the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his method of microanalysis of organic materials. Julius Wagner-Jauregg, professor of psychiatry, was awarded the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 1927 for his discovery of the therapeutic significance of the malaria vaccine in treating progressive paralysis. Professor of pharmacology Otto Loewi was granted the Nobel Prize in Medicine in 1936 for discovering the chemical transmission of nerve impulses.

Geschichte Sujet Nationalsozialistische Machtergreifung

"ANSCHLUSS": NATIONAL SOCIALIST SEIZURE OF POWER

When Austria was annexed by Nazi Germany in March 1938, 17 percent of teachers, including Nobel Prize laureates Otto Loewi, Viktor Hess and Erwin Schrödinger, and nearly one third of all students were dismissed and expelled for reasons of "race," religion or politics.

Geschichte Sujet Neubeginn

NEW BEGINNING: THE RECONSTRUCTION

May 1945 brought not only the reestablishment of the Republic of Austria but also a democratic reorientation/reorganization of the Austrian universities. One of the main and most difficult tasks was to liberate the institutions and committees from Nazi structures and to reaffirm the essential principle of freedom of research and teaching for science after many years of interruption.

Clinical Skills Center

FOUNDING: THE MEDICAL UNIVERSITY OF GRAZ

On January 1, 2004, the Faculty of Medicine split off from the University of Graz and the Medical University of Graz was established. In the past 15 years, Med Uni Graz has experienced dynamic development in the fields of expertise of studies and research along with cutting edge medicine for its patients: from the establishment of the first clinical skills center in Austria to the tripling of research achievements since its founding to being awarded the title of best young university in Austria several times.

MED CAMPS Graz

TODAY: A SUSTAINABLE HEALTH UNIVERSITY WITH AN INTERNATIONAL REPUTATION

Multiple honors with the Austrian State Prize for Excellent Teaching and other prestigious awards bear witness to the high quality of teaching at Med Uni Graz. The Center for Medical Research, the Center for Knowledge and Technology Transfer in Medicine, Biobank Graz with its more than 20 million biological samples and many other institutions provide the perfect research infrastructure, which rises to a fully new level on the premises of MED CAMPUS Graz and encourages interdisciplinary networking within the Med Uni Graz community. The first-class and personalized care for patients at University Hospital Graz is another important pillar of Med Uni Graz as a university center of innovative medicine. Dynamic advances in medical care thanks to the scientific commitment of its staff find their direct expression in highly specialized care.

Geschichte

Ein Streifzug durch die Geschichte

Als junge Universität blickt die Medizinische Universität Graz heute auf eine lange Tradition zurück. Bereits seit 1863 werden medizinische Forschung und die Ausbildung neuer Generationen von Ärzt*innen mit hohem Engagement und ausgezeichneten Erfolgen betrieben. Im Jänner 2004 wurde die bisherige Medizinische Fakultät eine eigenständige Universität. 

„Das Beste, was wir von der Geschichte haben, ist der Enthusiasmus, den sie erregt.“

Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Junge Universität mit langer Tradition:
Von 1585 bis heute

Die Gründer: Erzherzog Karl, Joseph II. und Kaiser Franz Josef I

Die Gründer: Erzherzog Karl, Joseph II. und Kaiser Franz Joseph I

Am 1. Jänner 1585 wurde die Universität Graz mit einer theologischen und philosophischen Fakultät durch den Habsburger Erzherzog Karl gegründet. 1782 kam es unter Joseph II. an der Universität zur Einführung des „Medizinisch-chirurgischen Studiums“, um die Ausbildung von Ärzten im gesamten Reich zu standardisieren. Am 13. Jänner 1863 wurde durch Kaiser Franz Joseph I. die Medizinische Fakultät gegründet.

Frauen an der Universität

Meilenstein: Frauen an der Universität

Im Jahr 1900 wurden erstmals Frauen als ordentliche Hörerinnen an der Medizinischen Fakultät Graz zugelassen. 1905 promovierte die erste praktizierende Ärztin in Graz: Oktavia Aigner-Rollett. 1929 folgte mit Dora Börner-Patzelt im Fachgebiet Histologie und Embryologie die erste Habilitation einer Frau an der Universität Graz. 1949 wurde Carla Zawisch-Ossenitz, eine Histologin, zur ersten ordentlichen Professorin ernannt.

Universitätsklinikum Graz am Auenbruggerplatz

Eröffnung: Universitätsklinikum Graz am Auenbruggerplatz

Nach zehnjähriger Planungs- und Bauzeit wurde am 12. Mai 1912 das Universitätsklinikum Graz als damals größtes und modernstes Krankenhaus Europas in Betrieb genommen. 1948 wurde das Klinikumgelände in Auenbruggerplatz umbenannt. Seit 2002 ist das Krankenhaus ein reines Universitätsklinikum. Dadurch werden erstklassige und personalisierte Patient*innenbetreuung, innovative und praxisnahe Ausbildung sowie zukunftsweisende und exzellente Forschung am Standort garantiert.

Laborsujet

Nobelpreise: Verdiente Persönlichkeiten

1923 erhielt Fritz Pregl, Professor für medizinische Chemie an der Medizinischen Fakultät Graz, den Nobelpreis für Chemie für die von ihm entwickelte Mikroanalyse organischer Stoffe. Julius Wagner-Jauregg, Professor für Psychiatrie, wurde 1927 der Nobelpreis für Medizin für die Entdeckung der therapeutischen Bedeutung der Malariaimpfung bei der Behandlung von progressiver Paralyse verliehen. Der Professor für Pharmakologie Otto Loewi wurde 1936 für die Entdeckung der chemischen Übertragung von Nervenimpulsen mit dem Nobelpreis für Medizin ausgezeichnet.

Geschichte Sujet Nationalsozialistische Machtergreifung

„Anschluss“: Nationalsozialistische Machtergreifung

Mit dem „Anschluss“ Österreichs an das nationalsozialistische Deutschland im März 1938 wurden 17 Prozent der Lehrenden, darunter die Nobelpreisträger Otto Loewi, Viktor Hess und Erwin Schrödinger, sowie beinahe ein Drittel der Studierenden aus „rassischen“, religiösen oder politischen Gründen entlassen und vertrieben.

Geschichte Sujet Neubeginn

Neubeginn: Der Wiederaufbau

Mit Mai 1945 kam es nicht nur zur Neubegründung der Republik Österreich, sondern auch zu einer demokratischen Neuorientierung/Reorganisation der österreichischen Universitäten. Eine der zentralsten und schwierigsten Aufgaben war es, die Institutionen und Gremien von den nationalsozialistischen Strukturen zu befreien sowie dem für die Wissenschaft unerlässlichen Grundsatz der Freiheit von Forschung und Lehre nach mehrjähriger Unterbrechung erneut Geltung zu verschaffen.

Clinical Skills Center

Gründung: Die Medizinische Universität Graz

Am 1. Jänner 2004 wurde die Medizinische Fakultät aus der Universität Graz ausgegliedert und es kam zur Gründung der Medizinischen Universität Graz. In den letzten 15 Jahren verzeichnete die Med Uni Graz eine dynamische Entwicklung der Kompetenzfelder Studium und Forschung im Einklang mit spitzenmedizinischer Patient*innenbetreuung: von der Etablierung des ersten Clinical Skills Centers in Österreich über die Verdreifachung der Forschungsleistungen seit der Gründung bis zur mehrfachen Auszeichnung als beste junge Universität Österreichs.

MED CAMPS Graz

Heute: Nachhaltige Gesundheitsuniversität mit internationalem Ruf

Die mehrfache Auszeichnung mit dem Staatspreis für exzellente Lehre und weitere hochrangige Preise zeugen für die hohe Qualität der Lehre an der Med Uni Graz. Das Zentrum für Medizinische Forschung, das Zentrum für Wissens- und Technologietransfer in der Medizin, die Biobank Graz mit weit mehr als 20 Millionen biologischen Proben und viele weitere Einrichtungen bieten die perfekte Forschungsinfrastruktur, die in den Räumlichkeiten des MED CAMPUS Graz auf ein völlig neues Level gehoben wird und zur interdisziplinären Vernetzung einlädt. Für die Med Uni Graz als Zentrum innovativer Universitätsmedizin bildet die erstklassige und personalisierte Betreuung von Patient*innen am Universitätsklinikum Graz eine weitere wichtige Säule. Die dynamische Weiterentwicklung in der medizinischen Versorgung durch das wissenschaftliche Engagement der Mitarbeiter*innen schlägt sich unmittelbar in der hochspezialisierten Betreuung nieder.