Fassade MED CAMPUS Graz

University Council

The University Council is the highest governing body at Med Uni Graz along with the Rectorate and the Senate and is responsible for supervision and managing. It is composed of seven members who serve for a five-year term. An equal number of members are appointed from the university and from the federal government, and they select a seventh member together. As the University Council fulfills its duties, it also serves as an interface between the public sector and society.


The University Council is composed of seven members.

  • Rosa Bellmann-Weiler
  • Iris Eisenberger (from February 1, 2022)
  • Michael Heinisch
  • Sylvia Knapp
  • Winfried Pinggera
  • Hans Sünkel, Chair
  • Michael Töpker, Secretary

The current term runs from March 1, 2018 to February 28, 2023.

Iris Eisenberger © TUM Astrid Eckert


As Eva Schulev-Steindl was elected Rector of BOKU Vienna for the term from February 1, 2022 to January 1, 2026, she will resign from the University Council of Med Uni Graz as of January 31, 2022.

As her successor, the Senate has elected Iris Eisenberger to the University Council for the remaining term until February 28, 2023.

Office of the University Council

Sabine Rockenschaub 
T: +43 316 385 72038