Research centers & institutes

Research centers & institutes

Teaching, research and diagnostics are carried out according to the biopsychosocial model in three basic research centers and four independent institutes. The scope and the content of the research centers are organized to optimally exploit the research potential and to achieve high visibility within the university and outside it. The growing specificity of the research profile makes the research centers increasingly attractive partners for (clinical) researchers within Med Uni as well as for regional, Austrian, European and global cooperation and networks. The essential tasks of the research centers remain high-quality research-driven teaching and specialized training in the individual disciplines.

Otto Loewi Forschungszentrum

Otto Loewi Research Center

At the Otto Loewi Research Center for Vascular Biology, Immunology and Inflammation, four divisions pool their competences in research and studies.

  • Division of Pharmacology
  • Division of Immunology and Pathophysiology
  • Division of Physiology
  • Division of Physiological Chemistry
Diagnostik- & Forschungszentrum für Molekulare BioMedizin

Diagnostic and Research Center

At the Diagnostic and Research Center for Molecular Biomedicine, four institutes pool their competences in research and studies.

  • Diagnostic and Research Institute of Pathology
  • Diagnostic and Research Institute of Human Genetics
  • Diagnostic and Research Institute of Hygiene, Microbiology and Environmental Medicine
  • Diagnostic and Research Institute of Forensic Medicine
Zentrenunabhängige Institute

Independent institutes

In four independent institutes, teaching and research are conducted according to the biopsychosocial model.

  • Institute of Social Medicine and Epidemiology
  • Institute of Medical Informatics, Statistics and Documentation
  • Institute of Nursing Science
  • Institute of General Medicine and Evidence-based Care Research