The Medical University of Graz is a legal entity under public law whose legal basis is the Universities Act of 2002. The university management consists of the Rectorate, the University Council and the Senate. The university is composed of scientific and non-scientific organizational units.

University Management

Rektorat - Foto: Helmut Lunghammer


Chaired by Rector Andrea Kurz, the Rectorate manages the business of the Medical University of Graz and consists of the rector and four vice rectors. The Rectorate is responsible for the strategic orientation of the university, which finds expression in the development plan, the performance agreement and the goal agreements The current term runs from February 2024 to February 2028.

  • Andrea Kurz, Rector
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Christian Enzinger, MBA, Vice Rector of Research and International Affairs
  • Mag.a Manuela Maria Groß, Vice Rector of Financial Management, Legal Matters and Digitalization 
  • Ao.Univ.-Prof. Mag. DDr. Erwin Petek, Vice Rector of Studies and Teaching
  • Univ.-Prof. Dr. Alexander Rosenkranz, Vice Rector of Clinical Affairs, Innovation and Sustainability


The Senate is one of the highest governing bodies of the university along with the Rectorate and the University Council. The 18 members consist of representatives of university professors, non-professorial teaching staff, students as well as a representative of the general staff. The current term runs from October 1,  2022 to September 30,  2025.

Chair of the Senate:

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Akos Heinemann


University Council

The University Council is the highest governing body at Med Uni Graz along with the Rectorate and the Senate and is responsible for supervision and managing. It is composed of seven members who serve for a five-year term. An equal number of members are appointed from the university and from the federal government, and they select a seventh member together. The current term runs from March 1, 2023 to February 29, 2028.

Chair of the University Council:

  • Dr. Michael Heinisch

Organizational units

Wissenschaftliche Organisationseinheiten

Scientific organizational units

The scientific organizational units of the Medical University of Graz are three basic research centers, four unaffiliated institutes and eighteen university departments.

Nichtwissenschaftliche Organisationseinheiten

Non-scientific organizational units

In the area of administration, ten organizational units advise the university management and provide them with support in their areas of responsibility.

Other units with special responsibilities

In addition to non-scientific organizational units and staff units, the following bodies and committees have been established at the Medical University of Graz: