Teddybär

TEDDY BEAR HOSPITAL

Teddy Bear Hospital was started in order to ease children's fears of doctors, hospital visits and clinical examinations in a playful manner. As they accompany their own stuffed animals, the children look over the shoulders of the Teddy Docs and assist in the treatment of their plush patients. Thanks to the Austrian Medical Students' Association, the Teddy Docs—motivated Med Uni Graz medical students—are on duty every year. Teddy Bear Hospital is free to all visitors. The target group is children between the ages of three and six.

INFORMATION FOR VISITORS

Checklist for the visit:

  • The children should bring a stuffed animal from home and think up a "medical history."
  • The project team recommends introducing the topic "being ill/doctors/hospital" to the children in advance.
  • An appointment at the Med Uni Graz Teddy Bear Hospital lasts 60 to 90 minutes.
  • Larger groups and kindergarten classes must register in advance. Registration starts two to three months before the next date.
  • Visitors are responsible for organizing how they get to and from the Teddy Bear Hospital.
Ärztin mit Teddybär

Teddy Docs

Teddy Bear Hospital provides Med Uni Graz students the unique opportunity to uninhibitedly and playfully act out a hospital situation with children. It is suitable for all students who enjoy working with children. One to two weeks before Teddy Bear Hospital, an introductory lecture is held during which the incoming Teddy Docs receive training on how to act their parts and deal with children. Each Teddy Doc receives instructions with all the important facts. Pharmacy students can also be involved in the Teddy Pharmacy.

ORGANIZATION

Teddy Bear Hospital Graz is organized by the Austrian Medical Students' Association (AMSA) in cooperation with Med Uni Graz students. The Academic Professional Association of Austrian Pharmacists (Akademische Fachverein Österreichischer Pharmazeut*innen, AFÖP), a platform that promotes the interests of all pharmacy students, also provides support. A large number of sponsors and partner organizations make it possible for Teddy Bear Hospital to take place throughout Austria every year.

CONTACT & REGISTRATION

Anselm Schlemmer

Teddybär

Teddybär-Krankenhaus

Das Teddybär-Krankenhaus wurde initiiert, um Kindern auf spielerische Art und Weise die Angst vor Ärzt*innen, dem Krankenhausbesuch und klinischen Untersuchungen zu nehmen. Als Begleitperson ihrer eigenen Stofftiere schauen die Kinder den Teddydocs über die Schulter und unterstützen bei der Verarztung ihrer plüschigen Patient*innen. Jedes Jahr sind die Teddydocs – engagierte Medizinstudierende der Med Uni Graz – dank der Organisation der Austrian Medical Students’ Association im Einsatz. Das Teddybär-Krankenhaus steht allen Besucher*innen kostenfrei zur Verfügung, wobei der Fokus auf der Zielgruppe von Kindern im Alter von ca. drei bis sechs Jahren liegt.

Informationen für Besucher*innen

Checkliste für den Besuch:

  • Die Kinder sollen ein eigenes Kuscheltier von zu Hause mitbringen und sich eine „Krankengeschichte“ überlegen.
  • Das Projektteam empfiehlt, das Thema „krank sein/Ärzt*innen/Krankenhaus“ vorab mit den Kindern zu erarbeiten.
  • Ein Durchlauf im Teddybär-Krankenhaus an der Med Uni Graz dauert ca. 1 bis 1,5 Stunden.
  • Größere Gruppen und Kindergärten müssen sich vorab anmelden. Die Anmeldung startet ca. 2 bis 3 Monate vor dem nächsten Termin.
  • Für die An- und Abreise sind Besucher*innen selbst und eigenverantwortlich zuständig.
Ärztin mit Teddybär

Teddydocs

Das Teddybär-Krankenhaus bietet Studierenden der Med Uni Graz die einmalige Chance, unbefangen und spielerisch mit Kindern in einer Krankenhaussituation zu agieren. Geeignet sind alle Studierenden, die gerne mit Kindern arbeiten. Ca. ein bis zwei Wochen vor dem Teddybär-Krankenhaus findet unsere Einführungsvorlesung statt, bei der die angehenden Teddydocs eine Einschulung zu Ablauf und Umgang mit Kindern bekommen. Zudem erhält jeder Teddydoc eine Anleitung mit allen wichtigen Fakten. Auch Studierende der Pharmazie können gerne bei der Teddy-Apotheke mitwirken.

Organisation

Das Teddybär-Krankenhaus Graz wird von der Austrian Medical Students’ Association (AMSA) in Zusammenarbeit mit Studierenden der Med Uni Graz organisiert. Bei der Durchführung unterstützt außerdem der Akademische Fachverein Österreichischer Pharmazeut*innen (AFÖP), eine Plattform zur Förderung der Interessen aller Studierenden des Faches Pharmazie. Zahlreiche Sponsor*innen und Partnerorganisationen machen es möglich, dass das Teddybär-Krankenhaus jedes Jahr in ganz Österreich stattfinden kann.

Kontakt & Anmeldung

Anselm Schlemmer